All photos by Andrea Paoletti
On Saturday, October 12, Porta San Frediano opened to visitors for a guided tour, which will be repeated every Saturday this month.
Newspapers called the gate “very magnificent” when it was erected as the western entrance to Florence in 1333. Porta San Frediano still stands somberly today, maintaining its original impressive appearance in oak and heavy. Formerly the gateway for traffic travelling to Pisa and Livorno, now it forms the entryway into the vibrant cultural neighbourhood of the Oltrarno. The monument was restored and reopened in spring 2018.
The tour will be repeated on October 19 and 26 at 9.30am, 10am, 10.30am, 11am, 11.30am and 12 noon. The tours cost 6 euro (paid locally); free to Card del Fiorentino holders. Reservations required. Call 055/2768224 or 055/2768558; email firstname.lastname@example.org.